The late Conner Byestewa, Jr. was the Director of Environmental Protection and Agriculture Regulatory Office for the Colorado River Indian Tribes. Mr. Byestewa tirelessly served his Tribe in many capabilities. He was a member of the Colorado River Indian Tribes’ Council and served as an advisor to several environmental and agricultural boards and work groups. His commitment was not only at the tribal level, but encompassed work at the state and federal levels.

Mr. Byestewa was an integral member of the Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) for EPA, Region 9. Conner worked on Western Regional Air Partnerships (WRAP), perchlorate and pesticide issues.

The foundation of his work continues today. The Conner Byestewa Jr. Environmental Award is being made in his honor to recognize the efforts of individuals that have made and strengthened tribal self-government and improved human health and environmental conditions with Indian Country in EPA, Region 9.


Deadline for Nominations: August 21, 2020

  • Nominator Submission Form

  • Accepted file types: jpg, jpeg, png, gif, pdf, doc, docx.
  • Nominee Submission Form

2019 Recipients

Gaila Montoya- Wells Band of Te-Moak Tribe of Western Shoshone, NV

Alan Bacock- Big Pine Tribe of the Owens Valley, CA

Charles Enos- Gila River Indian Community, AZ

2018 Recipients

John Parada- Augustine Band of Cahuilla Indians, CA

2017 Recipients

Lionel Puhuyesva- The Hopi Tribe, AZ

2016 Recipients

John Beresford- La Jolla Band of Luiseno Indians, CA

2015 Recipients

Elaine Wilson- Inter Tribal Council of Arizona, AZ

2014 Recipients

Gila River Indian Community, DEQ

Pesticide Control Office

(Ralph Morris, Hope Mix, Tony McCandless, Dan Hoyt)

2013 Recipients

Meyo Marrufo- Hopland Band of Pomo Indians

2012 Recipients

Brian Adkins-Bishop Paiute Tribe, CA

Warren J. Roan- Navajo Nation, AZ

John Mosely- Pyramid Lake Paiute Tribe, NV

2011 Recipients

Jesse Patterson- Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Indians, CA

Rudy Mix- Gila River Indian Community, AZ

Marci Hunter Philips (posthumous)- Shoshone Paiute Tribes of Duck Valley, NV

2010 Recipients

Cornelius Antone- Tohono O’ Odham Nation, AZ

Yerington Paiute Tribe, NV

Ken Norton- Hoopa Valley Tribe, CA

2009 Recipients

Satya “Deb” Misra- Navajo Nation, AZ

Marie Barry- Washoe Tribes of CA & NV

The Hinthil Environmental Resources Consortium, CA

2008 Recipients

Arlene Luther (posthumous)- Navajo Nation, AZ

Hopland Band of Pomo Indians Environmental Team, CA

Dan Mosely- Pyramid Lake Paiute Tribe, NV

2007 Recipients

Anna Masayesva, The Hopi Tribe, AZ

Lenore Volturno- Pala Band of Mission Indians, CA

Bernice Lalo- Battle Mountain Council, NV

Have any questions?

Give us a call to hear all of the topics currently listed.

(760) 651-5151